This week’s discovery

I have been in the process of writing my first ancestor profile all week. I’m a first-time mama to a very busy toddler and a freelance journalist, so time to compose comes in bite-sized chunks of a few minutes here and there.

But it was a discovery of a newspaper article containing some bit of scandal that has really caused the delay.   Because such a find, of course, always leads to more research.

I was double-checking a name of a saloon/restaurant my ancestor ran at the turn-of-last-century when I came across (via Google search) this clipping from an article in the Times of Philadelphia from 13 Oct 1888:

Times of Philadelphia article

I was able to find a second article which noted that my ancestor, Peter Reuter, lost the case.  Both of these articles have led to a fascinating discovery of another aspect of his life and times.

Besides finding previously unknown facts about my ancestor’s livelihood, I am understanding more about the neighborhood he and his young family resided in at that time and more about a long forgotten history of Philadelphia’s immigrant neighborhoods and the city’s theater culture.

The digging continues…

Copyright (c) 2015 by Jana Shea. All materials protected under the laws of copyright. Do not copy or reproduce without author’s permission.

 

Leave a Reply

